The fort was surrounded By a dry ditch on three sides, in the year 1840. Though the inner passage or guardroom had turned into a heap of ruins, the gateway, Grange described, to be in a ‘tolerable state of preservation. In 1874, the Topographical Survey of India, It is described by Major H. H. Godwin-Austen, the access gateway as a ‘fine solid mass of masonry. the stone which is penetrated to receive the hinges of the double heavy door, are still in perfect preservation.’ By octagonal turrets on both sides of bricks with ‘false windows of ornamental molded brickwork, he sketches it to be flanked. The pillars were there aligned in three parallel rows. Running parallel to the Dhansiri river, the form of the town, or palace enclosure, was an oblong square. Grange, through oral tradition, notes that it was built by Chokradoz who was the fourth king of Cachar. According to Godwin-Austen, these pillars were the most distinguishing feature of the ruins. Rather than three, he counted them as two rows as Grange noted. The tallest one was about 15 feet, and the smallest pillar at the southern end was 8 feet and 5 inches. In all of the carved work, the lotus was evident.